Press Room


Promo Code
Promo Code
View or Modify Reservation


December 11, 2015


KOHALA COAST, HAWAII – The Aloha Section PGA is excited to be returning to Mauna Lani Resort for the Hawaii State Open. First played in 1920 as the Hawaiian State Open, it eventually became a PGA Tour stop known to the golfing world as the Hawaiian Open. In 1976, the Aloha Section PGA revived the event as the ultimate golf championship for professionals and amateurs with the purpose of determining the best golfer in the islands. The tournament is now presented by the Aloha Section PGA Foundation and will be returning to Mauna Lani Resort for the 4th year. 

The tournament draws a field of 170 players male and female, from across the state, U.S. mainland and other countries with a total purse of $60,000.

The event opened with a PRO-AM on December 10th benefitting the Aloha Section PGA Foundation (a non-profit 501 c3) and was played on the historic South course. The Championship tournament begins today Friday, December 11th and will be played on both North and South courses. This year’s field of players lists some of Hawaii Golf Hall of Famers and top professionals and amateurs.

In the Men’s Open division, Dean Wilson returns to defend his title against a field of past champions and young professionals. Wilson will be joined with a stellar field of professionals; Nick Mason (’08, ’13), Tadd Fujikawa (’10), Parker McLachlin, and TJ Kua will compete for this year’s trophy. 

In the Senior Open division, defending champion Casey Nakama will be returning to defend against a legendary field of  Kevin Hayashi, PGA who won the Men’s Open division in 1999, 2000, and 2001; Scott Simpson, PGA (’79, ’81, ’93, ’94). The Men’s amateur competition brings, Kyle Suppa, Tyler Ota and Andrew Chin.

We would also like to recognize our major tournament sponsors; Mauna Lani Resort (Operations) – Title Sponsor, Big Island Candies – Platinum Sponsor, BCS, In. – Platinum Sponsor and Wasa Electrical - Platinum Sponsor.

 About Mauna Lani Resort: The famous golf courses, the Francis H. I’i Brown North & South are named in honor of the former Mauna Lani landowner and champion Hawaii golfer. The courses offer breathtaking scenery, unforgettable signature holes and cutting-edge course design built around ancient Hawaiian petroglyphs, trails and fishponds. Mauna Lani Resort is home to the annual Hawaii State Open played in December.

About the Aloha Section PGA: The Aloha Section PGA was established in 1976, and today is comprised of over 230 golf Professionals working at over 90 facilities within the Section. The mission of the Aloha Section (ASPGA) is that Purpose of the PGA of America, to promote the enjoyment and involvement in the game of golf and to contribute to its growth by providing services to golf professionals and the golf industry. The ASPGA provides competitive playing opportunities, educational seminars, and growth of the game initiatives, within the state of Hawaii.

Wesley Wailehua Executive Director / C.E.O. – Aloha Section PGA & Foundation 615 Piikoi Street, Ste 1812 | Honolulu, HI 96814 phone: 808.593.2230| fax: 808.593.2234 |